A Day Of Rest, A Night of a Million Stories!

I hope you are all having a wonderful Thursday! Hang in there, the weekend is right around the corner! I Decided to take the day off from writing anything mindbogglingly important and go for a walk to the library. Where I live the closest library is about a three mile walk away and naturally my mind wanders. I can’t help feeling like Belle and I have an awful lot in common. We both love books, libraries, tea, and have a soft spot for beasts. It doesn’t help that she is my absolute favorite Disney Princess. Besides Peter Pan she was the one I always used to dream of running away with. 

Anyways, I took a rather long walk to the library and managed quite a haul! Here is a picture of some of the books I checked out!

now

 

1) “Twice Told Tales” by Nathaniel Hawthorne. 

“Twice Told Tales” is a collection of short stories first published in 1837. It receives its name from previously being published in magazines and annuals. I LOVE Mr. Hawthorne! I have loved him since I first read “The Scarlet Letter” and I have loved him everyday since. I am very excited to read this and can’t wait to tell you all what I think! He is definitely not the author for everyone. Even Edgar Allan Poe used to write unflattering reviews of Hawthorne’s work. But even he later admitted, “The style of Hawthorne is purity itself. His tone is singularly effective—wild, plaintive, thoughtful, and in full accordance with his themes… We look upon him as one of the few men of indisputable genius to whom our country has as yet given birth.” 

Click here for more information on Hawthorne or his works.

2) “Flowers For Algernon” by Daniel Keyes.

I have been interested in reading this book ever since a friend of mine told me about it. It’s a science fiction short story first published in 1958. Algernon is the story of a lab rat that has undergone surgery to increase his intelligence and is told in a series of progress reports. This book has been challenged and successfully removed from several libraries across the United States and Canada. So naturally, I am curious! 

Click here for more information.

3) and 4) “The Hunger Games” and “Catching Fire” by Suzanne Collins.

Ok, I will admit…I saw the movies before reading the books. I am a naughty, naughty person. But to my defense, I have a lot of books on my “to-be-read” pile and I am glad to finally be getting to these. I know that the books are a lot different than the movies (Like most) so I am really excited to jump right into them! 

Click here for more information.

5) “While Mortals Sleep” by Kurt Vonnegut.

Oh, Mr. Vonnegut, our relationship is so touch and go. I love you, I really do. But a person can only stomach so much…I hope that by reading more Vonnegut I will embrace the side of him everyone loves so much. This book is a collection of 16 previously unpublished short stories that came out in 2011.  

Click Here for more information.

6) “Myst: The Book of Atrus” by Rand and Robyn Miller.

I will admit here, dearest reader, that I picked this book up because it was pretty. I know better then to judge a book by it’s cover but something about this book spoke to me. The pages feel old and think, like the rest of the book itself. It has it’s own little charm. This is the prequel and first in the three-part series, “The Myst Reader.” It’s British sci-fi, it was on USA Today’s best selling list, and it centers around a character that “has the ability to write special books which serve as links to other worlds.” I’m sold! 

Click here for more information in the series.


 

I’m off to dive into delicious books! Better get the kettle ready and settle in. 😀

Have an adventure for me, love. ❤ 


 

Comment below if you have read any of these! What are your thoughts? (No spoliers!) 😉 Do you have anything you would recommend? 

 

About lunacate

Lover of literature, happy bibliophile, fervent collector and reader. Ambitious and hopeful writer. Daily muse and random thinker.
This entry was posted in Random Blogger and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

